Lakers Now

Round-the-Clock Purple and Gold

« Previous Post | Lakers Now Home | Next Post »

Lakers' Bynum gets second technical foul rescinded

January 10, 2011 |  3:27 pm

Lakers center Andrew Bynum hadn't been ejected from a game in more than three years. Turns out he shouldn't have been ejected from Sunday's game against New York.

The NBA rescinded the second technical foul called against Bynum in the fourth quarter of the Lakers' 109-87 victory at Staples Center.

Bynum often complains about foul calls but added extra animation and made contact briefly with referee Leon Wood while arguing that he legitimately blocked the shot of Knicks forward-center Amare Stoudemire.

After the game, Bynum was still shaking his head about the sequence of events.

“I said, ‘Are you serious?’ I don’t know if it really warrants a technical or a double technical at that,” Bynum said. “I’m pretty surprised. You can watch the telecast. You can read my lips. I’m saying, ‘Are you serious?’ He’s a grown man so I don’t know if I showed him up or not.”

Bynum hadn’t been ejected since a December 2007 game against San Antonio.

“[Wood] wouldn’t acknowledge me. I asked him a question and he kind of like put his head down like a bad Lab or something,” Bynum said, alluding to a Labrador retriever.

Bynum did not talk to reporters after Monday's practice.

--Mike Bresnahan


Advertisement










Video